Sportech NZ News‎ > ‎

FIFA Ballon d’Or 2012

posted 15 Dec 2012, 01:05 by Sportech Nz   [ updated 15 Dec 2012, 01:09 ]
January 2012 Winners Homare Sawa (Japan) and Lionel Messi (Argentina)

There are a numerous football awards each year and the Ballon d’Or awards each January go to the very best in the World.  Following a series of votes from around the globe the nominees are now shortlisted and the winners will be announced on 7 January 2013 (8 January NZT).

Awards presented:

FIFA Ballon d’Or  (Men’s World Player of the Year)
FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year
FIFA Men’s Football Coach of the Year
FIFA Women’s Football Coach of the Year
FIFA Presidential Award
FIFA Fair Play Award
FIFA Puskas Award

The original 23 nominees for the Ballon d’Or (Mens) are now down to three:  Andre Iniesta, Christiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

Leo Messi has won the Ballon d’Or World Player of the Year three times – years 2011, 2010, and 2009 – a hat-trick of awards.  Michel Platini is the only other player to score three awards in 1983 to 1985.

After recently breaking the previous World Record of 85 goals in a calendar year (2012) it seems probably that Leo Messi will set another record by becoming the first player ever to win the Ballon d’Or award four times. However, the goal scoring World record that lasted 40 years was set in 1972 by Gerd Müller but ironically he was not awarded the Ballon d’Or 1972 – the award went instead to Franz Beckenbauer who lead Germany to the European Championship in 1972.

Andre Iniesta was voted Best Player of Euro 2012. Could Iniesta win enough votes to steal the 2012 Ballon d’Or from Barcelona team mate Leo Messi?

The Womens FIFA World Player of the Year went to Marta five years in a row (2006-2010) with last year’s 2011 award going to Homare Sawa of Japan. The nominees for 2012 have now been short-listed to three players: Marta (Brazil), Alex Morgan (USA) and Abby Wambach (USA).  The USA had four nominees in the top ten – not bad for a country that doesn’t play football. Japan had three of the nominees; Europe had one.

Wayne Rooney was the only Englishman in the 23 nominees.