Sportech NZ News‎ > ‎

New Zealand Mens Olympic Football Team Named

posted 21 Jun 2012, 17:35 by Sportech Nz

New Zealand have included just four players from the 2010 World Cup in their football squad for the London Olympics.

QPR defender Ryan Nelsen, who captained New Zealand at the World Cup, will also lead the Olympics team as one of three over-age players in the under-23 squad.

Ipswich defender Tommy Smith, West Bromwich striker Chris Wood and striker Shane Smeltz, who plays for the A-League's Perth Glory, are the other players from South Africa 2010.

Central Coast Mariners midfielder Michael McGlinchey was added as one of the over-age players when defender Winston Reid was chose to tour with his club West Ham United.

The 18-man team will be coached by former Wolverhampton Wanderers midfielder Neil Emblen and will play pool matches against Belarus, Egypt and Brazil.

Emblen said the squad is small but has tactical flexibility.

"The over-age players give us a good balance and experience down the spine of the team. We've been able to pick the All Whites premier defender, first choice midfielder and most prolific striker," Emblen said.

"Ryan's influence in particular will be massive for a group that includes players as young as 17 and any time you can include a player in your squad that was commonly regarded as one of the best at the World Cup in South Africa it's a boost for your side's chances."

The Oly Whites squad includes five players who currently play for English teams, four play in Australia, two in the USA, one in Russia, and the remaining six play for New Zealand teams.

The Women Football Ferns 18 player squad for the Olympics will be announced on June 29.

New Zealand men’s football team for London Olympics
1-Jake GLEESON (GK) (Portland Timbers, USA)
18-Michael O'KEEFFE (GK) (Fairfield University, USA)

3 - Ian HOGG (Auckland City)
4 - Tim MYERS (Waitakere United)
5 - Tommy SMITH (Ipswich Town, ENG)
6 - Ryan NELSEN* (Captain, Queen’s Park Rangers, ENG)
12 - Adam THOMAS (Waikato FC)
14 - James MUSA (Team Wellington)

2 - Tim PAYNE (Blackburn Rovers, ENG)
8 - Michael McGLINCHEY* (Central Coast Mariners, AUS)
13 - Alex FENERIDIS (Auckland City)
15 - Cameron HOWIESON (Burnley, ENG)
17 - Adam McGEORGE (Auckland City)

7 - Kosta BARBAROUSES (Alania Vladikavkaz, RUS)
9 - Shane SMELTZ* (Perth Glory, AUS)
10 - Chris WOOD (West Bromwich Albion, ENG)
11 - Marco ROJAS (Melbourne Victory, AUS)
16 - Dakota LUCAS (Sunshine Coast, AUS)

Michael EAGAR (Team Wellington)
Cameron LINDSAY (Wellington Phoenix)
Luke ROWE (Team Wellington)
Scott BASALAJ (Team Wellington)

New Zealand Olympic Schedule - Men
July 26
New Zealand v Belarus
City of Coventry Stadium, Coventry
7.45pm (6.45am, July 27 NZT)

July 29
New Zealand v Egypt
Old Trafford, Manchester
12pm (11pm, July 29 NZT)

August 1
New Zealand v Brazil
St James’ Park, Newcastle
2.30pm (1.30am, August 2 NZT)