Sportech NZ News‎ > ‎

PFA Team of the Year 2013

posted 29 Apr 2013, 21:23 by Sportech Nz   [ updated 29 Apr 2013, 21:31 ]

Liverpool's Luis Suarez has been named in the Professional Footballers' Association Team of the Year, despite a season marred by controversy.

Suarez's 23 goals this season - which make him the second highest scorer in the Premier League behind Robin van Persie (25 goals) - earned him the nod alongside Robin van Persie and Gareth Bale, though he missed out to the Welshman in the race to win PFA Player of the Year.

The Uruguay international is currently serving a 10-match suspension for biting Chelsea's Branislav Ivanovic, but the PFA insisted his on-field achievements would be recognised.


Premier League champions Manchester United dominated the Team of the Year, with four players - including Van Persie, Michael Carrick, Rio Ferdinand and David De Gea - named in the side.

Arsenal were the only club in the top seven to miss out on having a player selected, with Everton's Leighton Baines, Manchester City's Pablo Zabaleta and Chelsea duo Eden Hazard and Juan Mata selected.

PFA Team of the Year:

Goalkeeper: David De Gea (Manchester United)

Defenders: Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham), Leighton Baines (Everton)

Midfielders: Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Juan Mata (Chelsea), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Gareth Bale (Tottenham)

Forwards: Luis Suarez (Liverpool), Robin van Persie (Manchester United)

Read more at ESPN