Sportech NZ News‎ > ‎

Robin van Persie PFA Player of the Year

posted 26 Apr 2012, 14:53 by Sportech Nz   [ updated 26 Apr 2012, 14:59 ]
Robin van Persie has been named as the Professional Footballers' Association's Player of the Year.

The 28-year-old striker has scored 38 times this season, including 34 goals in all competitions for Arsenal.

The Dutch international, who is the Premier League's top goalscorer, said: "If other people are saying it, it is special, but it is even more special if your opponents are saying it.

"If they make up their minds that I'm the best player it is a big honour."

Van Persie, who has been inspirational for Arsene Wenger's side, was also quick to acknowledge the importance of his team-mates.

"Without them I could not have achieved it," he said. "For example, Theo Walcott, he has given me more than 12 assists and I do really appreciate that.

Van Persie is enjoying his most fruitful season since signing for Arsenal in 2004, helped largely by a fruitful switch into the centre-forward role.

"To be fair, when I first went there I wasn't really as confident and I wasn't really sure I could do it," he added.

"It took a bit of time but after a couple of months I slowly realised I could do a good job there."

Van Persie won the award ahead of Manchester United's Wayne Rooney, Tottenham's Scott Parker and Manchester City trio Sergio Aguero, Joe Hart and David Silva.

Manchester City had the most representatives in the PFA team of the year, with four on the list - Joe Hart, Vincent Kompany, David Silva and Yaya Toure.

PFA Premier League team of the year: Joe Hart (Man City), Kyle Walker (Tottenham), Vincent Kompany (Man City), Fabricio Coloccini (Newcastle), Leighton Baines (Everton), David Silva (Man City), Yaya Toure (Man City), Gareth Bale (Tottenham), Scott Parker (Tottenham), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Wayne Rooney (Man Utd).

PFA Championship team: Kelvin Davis (Southampton), Nathaniel Clyne (Crystal Palace), James Tomkins (West Ham), Curtis Davies (Birmingham), Ian Harte (Reading), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff), Mark Noble (West Ham), Matt Phillips (Blackpool), Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Jay Rodriguez (Burnley).


Tottenham and England defender Kyle Walker has been named PFA Young Player of the Year.

The ex-Sheffield United full-back, 21, beat Manchester City's Sergio Aguero and Manchester United's Danny Welbeck to take the award.

"I was a bit surprised because defenders don't normally get these awards and get the limelight as much as the centre-forwards," he said.

"It is a great honour to get the award and hopefully there is more to come."

Walker has been a regular for Tottenham this season, starting 33 of their 34 Premier League matches.

"It is always an honour to be selected by the people you play against and hopefully I can get a few more of these and some medals with Tottenham along the way."

His form earned him his first full international cap in November as he made his debut as a late substitute in England's 1-0 win over Spain at Wembley.

He made his first start three days later as England beat Sweden by the same score line.