Sportech NZ News‎ > ‎

UEFA Europa League Last 32

posted 6 Dec 2012, 20:43 by Sportech Nz   [ updated 6 Dec 2012, 20:45 ]

24 teams qualify from the Europa League groups plus eight third placed teams from the Champions League group stage.

Following the last of the group matches, Tottenham and Liverpool progressed while Steaua Bucharest and Stuttgart advanced from Group E and Basel earned the point needed at Genk to join them.

The 12 Europa League group winners are seeded for the knockout stage draw which will take place on 20 December.

Eight teams drop into the Europa League from the Champions League, all of whom finished third in that competition's group stage.

Uefa's website states that the "four best third-ranked teams in the Champions League group stage" will be seeded.

Chelsea and Cluj are the highest points scorers from the third-placed teams, having accumulated 10 points each while Olympiakos and Benfica picked up nine and eight points respectively.

  • Group A: Liverpool and Anzhi
  • Group B: Plzen and Atletico Madrid
  • Group C: Fenerbahce and Monchengladbach
  • Group D: Bordeaux and Newcastle
  • Group E: Steaua Bucharest and Stuttgart
  • Group F: Dnipro and Napoli
  • Group G: Genk and Basel
  • Group H: Rubin Kazan and Inter Milan
  • Group I: Lyon and Sparta Prague
  • Group J: Lazio and Tottenham
  • Group K: Metalist Kharkiv and Bayer Leverkusen
  • Group L: Hannover and Levante
  • Champions League: Dynamo Kiev, Olympiakos, Zenit, Ajax, Chelsea, BATE Borisov, Benfica, CFR Cluj.

The Europa Final will be decided by a single match, which this season will be played at the Amsterdam ArenA on Wednesday 15 May 2013.